wlp awards

DR. Kathleen Moore Faculty Excellence Award Program

In 2007, the WLP Faculty Research Award program was established by our members to recognize female faculty whose research and scholarly efforts focused on women. For eight years, the award provided one university-wide grant annually. As WLP grew and thrived, so too did our program in size, scope and impact. In 2018, recognizing the important role of our award in the progression of female faculty, past chair and lifetime member Kathleen Moore, PhD, made a generous commitment to WLP to establish the Dr. Kathleen Moore Faculty Excellence Award endowment, providing six annual awards to female faculty members. With Moore’s leadership, the awards now recognize achievements in research, instructional excellence, and the mentoring and engagement of students. To date, our grant program has awarded 53 women more than $265,000 to further their research endeavors.

Our Faculty Excellence Award Program recognizes faculty research excellence in six separate award categories, each receiving a $5,000 research grant: 

  • Three campus-based Faculty Excellence Awards (one award per USF campus — Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota-Manatee)
  • One USF Junior Faculty Excellence Award
  • One Instructor Award
  • One Valerie D. Riddle, MD, Award in Health

Click to review past recipients and the application process.


The USF Women in Leadership & Philanthropy (WLP) program honors visionary leaders and philanthropists throughout the community doing extraordinary things to make Tampa Bay a better place for women to live and work. With the Community Leadership Award, we showcase individual excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work and inspiration to others. We publicly affirm present achievements, seek to encourage further work on the part of the recipients and hope to motivate others to follow their lead in service to the Tampa Bay communities.

Click to review past recipients and the application process.


The WLP Community Leadership Lifetime Achievement Award is given annually to an individual whose career has greatly contributed to the advancement or promotion of women.

Click to review past recipients and the application process.